Foundational Principle #6

Worship is 100% About God and 0% About Us

 I will extol you, my God and King,
    and bless your name forever and ever.
Every day I will bless you
    and praise your name forever and ever.
Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised,
    and his greatness is unsearchable. – Psalm 145:1-3 ESV

King David wrote the words of Psalm 145. As king, no earthy person had rule over him. He was the supreme commander, the top dog, a man of unmatched authority. Yet he begins this psalm with the phrase “I will extol you, my God my King.” David was recognizing and proclaiming, there was a greater king than himself. He is addressing God has his king. It is a phenomenal concept – the king was putting himself under submission to another King.

If King David submitted himself to God and understood the necessity to worship something of greater significance than himself, we must do the same thing.

Yet I am amazed at how often we gather on Sunday mornings and seem to think our meeting together is about us. We complain about the music or the service. We become critical of other people and we rarely like the pastors message. We have somehow come to the conclusion, worship is about us; our feelings, our opinions and our comfort.

David tells us God is the ultimate authority as he submits to the kingship of God. He says he will “Bless His name forever,” not just when it’s convenient. He states how “every day” he will engage in this activity and finally declares God’s greatness is “unsearchable.” The Hebrew word here is hard for us to translate fully but it basically means “beyond the realm of our understanding.”

My attitude surrounding worship is God – period. It isn’t about how I feel that day or even what problems I am facing. Those are legitimate issues, but isn’t worship. Worship is 100% God. I am putting myself into His care and I am submitting to His will because His greatness is beyond my ability to understand.

Our modern music used in our services often twist worship around to us and we sing about how God has done great things for me. The songs might mention the value God finds in each of us or how He gets us through the storms of life. Those are valid concepts, but they aren’t worship.

The pattern of Worship is what King David tells us in Psalm 145. Submit to Him as king or Lord of your life. Submit to Him and make it a point to do every day. Praise Him during the good days and the not-so-good ones. His greatness is beyond us – and that’s ok! Worship 100% and 0% about us.

Blessings My Friend

-jm

Leave a comment